Customer Service 866.965.0400

Flashing On White Car

Gremlin85

Question

Hey everyone,

Getting ready to do a full detail on my 2013 White Pearl Ford Fusion and I am wondering if it's going to be as hard as I think it is to see the polish flash?

I'm concerned as I've never done a white car before and I fear I might work the polish too much or too little if I really can't tell if it flashes - I've read it's a bit hard to see.

Any tips or tricks on what to look for on white? I'll be outside as I do not have a garage to polish in.

Thanks!

17 answers to this question

I have a white truck, I normally do as said above for the first panel and see how many passes it takes to flash, then I go from there and pretty much know how long it takes to flash.

Each panel is different in size but I always work a 2x2 area so no big deal:)

Kevin

White is one of the more challenging colors because it is so hard to see what you're getting back from the polish in terms of flash/open times. I tend to polish white in the darkest environment I can make, with the lighting being perpendicular to the panel (if that makes sense). 

We had a discussion awhile back on here on which color was harder, and while black is generally considered the most difficult due to the fact it shows everything, I'd almost argue white is harder (at least during the process) because of how hard it is to see the imperfections and to see what the products are doing as you work. 

Each color has its own challenges you have to learn to adapt to. Experiment and you'll find some solutions for your car. 

Here is the white hood of my 1996 work truck, I bought it new and now has 222k miles on it.

It is possaible to get a shine on older paints such as mine, it worked for me and it will work for you.

Do as I suggested and you'll be fine.

IMO white isn't a difficult color to work with if you know the correct procedure.