Customer Service 866.965.0400

C6 Corvette Paint Correction

cousineau18

Question

So I am new to this whole detailing hobby. I have a 2008 Corvette that over the past 6 years of driving it, has accumulated some swirl marks and water marks and small scratches that have NOT penetrated the clear coat (my fingernail does not catch the scratch just my eye sight does).

I purchased the following products to fix the issue. It might have been a bit of an overkill but I just wanted to make sure I was able to fix the issue.

Porter Cable 7424XP
Clay
M105
M205
Hex Logic 5.5" Orange and White pads
Rejex for the sealant

So after claying the entire car I started the process of applying M105 with the orange pad. For each 2' X 2' section on speed 5 I would complete 6 section passes. I started to get some great results except for some small scratches every now and then, that no matter how many section passes over that particular area to see if doing extra passes would help but it's not. I even tried bumping up the speed to speed 6 but some of the areas on the corvette are fiberglass and bend too easily and I was not able to apply enough pressure to the pad to make it where the pad isn’t spinning too fast so I stopped that.

I know I could possibly buy the teal Heavy Cutting pad and try that or maybe some light wet sanding, but would like to see if someone could give me some insight. Over the entire car I would estimate there are about 15 to 20 of these tiny scratches that I want to remove.

21 answers to this question

Well first off you probably will get more help on Megs forum.

2nd. 105 is terrible. It creates more of a mess than it fixes.

3rd. You have to be sure you're following through all the steps. If you use 105 you need to finish with 205. It doesn't matter if you make 6 passes of 10 passes you have to learn to judge it especially with SMAT Polishes. If you can't judge it you need to use a DAP Polish like Adam's offers that "Flashes" when its time to stop polishing.