Customer Service 866.965.0400

Learned the Hard Way

mathews31

Question

So I did a paint correction on my 2010 Charger hood and roof, and well I had already used the SK15 once so I had come to the conclusion that I was a pro. Well if anyone's ever seen a 2010 Charger, the hood has a weird edge next to the windshield. I unfortunately came too close to the edge and burned through my clear coat. I figure I had to learn the hard way. I figured I would let you guys know so that maybe someone learns from my mistakes.

post-15440-0-17319300-1490397858.jpg

Edited by mathews31

Being on mobile I can't open the picture and zoom in but could the backing plate have caused that?

Edit: Was able to zoom in. Still wonder if the backing plate started the damage.

I'm wondering this as well. If excessive downward pressure was being used right at this curved/raised area, it's possible but unlikely that the velcro of the backing plate at the center cooling hole of the pad may have contacted the paint and made light surface scratches from the velcro. This would require a lot of downward pressure on the pad to squeeze the foam in that much for the velcro to contact.

I'm very sorry this happened Mat!

Which pad and polish were you using when this happened, and what speed were you running the polisher at? Have you tried claying or polishing this area by hand after this occurred Mat? Take a small amount of Correcting Polish on a microfiber applicator or even your finger or a single soft towel, and try to gently work the polish to see if it removes any of the defect. From the small picture, it almost looks like it could be hardened polish residue, but it may in fact be clear coat strike-through. Can you provide a few larger pictures? 

Being on mobile I can't open the picture and zoom in but could the backing plate have caused that?

Edit: Was able to zoom in. Still wonder if the backing plate started the damage.