Customer Service 866.965.0400

If I can't fit in a full detail...

UofAZCats

Question

I live in Florida and right now the weather is either dang hot with lots of sun or rainy and slightly cooler.  My garage is only big enough to "tuck" my truck in and not big enough to move around on 3 sides.  I want to do a full detail but given the direct sunshine makes the truck too hot and the cloudy periods usually mean rain I have a short period of time in which I can work.  Since my time windows aren't long enough to do a full detail I plan to try to break the detail into two parts.  Keeping in mind that I will have to drive the car in between the two sessions does anyone have any experience with this and have any recommendations (other than buy a house with a bigger garage)?  My thought is to wash, clay and polish in one session and then strip wash, seal, glaze and wax in the second session.  Thanks for your input.

I'm no expert by any means. I'm sure some of the more knowledgeable members will chime in. However, I wouldn't drive the vehicle without any layer of sealant or wax on it. I would simply take the area I was working on to completion. And on the next session, do the same for the remainder. Again, I'm not expert but that's my two cents. Good luck!

Rob hit the nail on the head - don't drive without some sort of protective layer on the car. Should something hit your car...bird bomb, tree sap, etc...you could do some damage to your paint. So I'd recommend strip wash (vs. normal since you want to take everything off before you start the process), clay, polish, alcohol wipe down (50/50 isopropyl alcohol with blue waffle weave towels) to remove the oils, wet the car, and apply HGG (it can protect the car for 2-3 months, so you'll have more than enough time). Then, next session, strip wash (again, to remove the HGG), check for any new swirls and correct if necessary, and proceed to seal, glaze and wax.

Post some pics when done!