Customer Service 866.965.0400

falcaineer

Yes, you read the title correctly. Don't believe me? Read on...

About a week ago, my (admittedly outdated LG G3) phone died on me. Out of nowhere, the screen went blue and the phone shut down. It wouldn't turn on, wouldn't take a charge. Nothing. It was D-E-D, dead!

While I forgot to get a picture of my phone, here's what it looked like:

Screenshot_2018-02-12-21-22-16.thumb.png.1b27cb2164e55c3f1be8f5924243c365.png

So now what???

Dr. Google to the rescue! After a little research, I found this is fairly common with G3's. I came across multiple articles and videos describing how people applied heat to the motherboard as a fix action. Hair dryers, heat guns, and ovens, too. I thought no way that could work, but I'm not an electrical engineer. But the phone is essentially a brick, so what do I have to lose? Well, besides all the data I hadn't backed up in a little while.

Anyway, off to the kitchen!

Phone disassembled, motherboard laid gently on the cookie sheet. *No cooking spray applied.

25673.thumb.jpeg.c301cc6fdd10bcf5fbcaa2f442835af2.jpeg

Oven temp set at 350' (later reduced to 325', basically out of fear :o), and timer set for 10 VERRRRYYYYYY LOOOONNNNNNNNGGGGGG minutes.

25674.thumb.jpeg.1c8505fe9184d2450f4004eaebeb280b.jpeg

A watched motherboard never broils...

25679.thumb.jpeg.325999970233bbc04a4d39611096524b.jpeg

Dinner's ready!!! It didn't really brown, that's just the lighting. I think. :unsure:

25676.jpeg.214d6e47e9a96d1e68094b8bc4e62861.jpeg

Soooooo, did it work? 

Phone reassembled...press power button........wait.........no blue screen.......wait..........Verizon startup screen!......wait.........

YES!!! :banana: I am back up and running, and - knock on wood - have been ever since. And there's even a little Adam's reflection on the home screen for your viewing pleasure.

25677.jpeg.6a93ac10af6815f250b2ec0a4c850b1d.jpeg