Customer Service 866.965.0400

Adams Ceramic Paint Coat!

CamKrohn

Question

In a few weeks I plan on doing a full decon, paint correction, and Adams Paint coating on my black 2012 Jeep Cherokee. First timer here with the paint coating, so I had a few questions. How long does a paint coating typically last? if done correctly, are quick wash, dry, detail spray or ceramic boost all I need to do to maintain? Also what strips a ceramic coating? Is there any need to put wax on top of a ceramic coating after the initial coating? or is that going to cause hazing? Sorry total noob here, just trying to get my car dialed in after this horrible Minnesota winter.

Thanks!

-Cameron

5 answers to this question

The durability of a coating is variable.  It depends on the type of coating and the conditions it's subjected to.  Adam's goes on in a single layer and you can expect 18-24 months, maybe longer with good care. 

Coatings will require decontamination a couple of times a year.  So clay with a soft clay, iron decontamination and reapplication of Ceramic Boost.  Ceramic Boost can actually be used almost like a quick detailer every couple of months if you'd like.

The only way to remove a ceramic coating is through actual wear and tear, or by mechanical abrasion such as wetsanding or polishing.  We stripped an Adam's coating off of a vehicle and it took a pass of compound with a wool pad, compound with a foam pad, correcting polish with a foam pad and finishing polish with a foam pad to get the vehicle where we wanted it to reinstall different protection.

You can put wax on a coating, but there isn't really a lot of need.  Depending on the wax you use, you may find a change in how water reacts to the coating.  One of the benefits of a coating is more durability and less maintenance (but not maintenance free).