Customer Service 866.965.0400

Porter Cable 7424XP vs Adam's Swirl Killer (SKMB Temptation)

LSX Maestro

Question

I know this question of "PC vs other polisher" has been asked a million times.  But I'm here to ask it again ? .  I just purchased a brand new PC 7424 to replace my older one, I polished out the hood/front flip of my Vette last night and I had no issue with it.  I don't mind the vibrations which aren't even that bad IMO (Maybe I got a Wednesday machine) and it easily got the job done.  But, gosh darn it, the SKMB is tempting me like crazy right now.  So basically the SK 15 would just get the same results a bit faster and run a bit smoother.  Worth it?  I'm not a professional detailer, just a hobbyist that likes to maintain my...fleet, of cars.  Should I just be happy with the PC and just order a TOMB instead? 

8 answers to this question

I have an older PC 7424 (not the 7424XP?). I have only polished my truck once. (4 times really.... 3 step polish and then the sealant) I am in the same boat as you as far as the PC. It works well, it didn’t kill my arms with vibrations as most have said it does. BUT with that being said, when the time is right for me.... I will upgrade to the SK15mm! 

I don’t think you’d be disappointed by the SK. You could always pull the trigger in a different size?  More polishers is never a bad thing. And any serious detailer could benefit from a mini. 

We have all four sizes of polishers and routinely use all four. Some more than others, but all see use. 

I have, use, and am fine with the PC. I only polish twice a year, so not enough to justify the extra cost right now on a somewhat similar machine (before anyone jumps in, I just mean it's a mid-sized polisher). I agree with Shane...look a it a different size, like the Mini. You'll probably get more bang for your buck since the MB likely includes pads, polish, etc. My two cents.