Customer Service 866.965.0400

Ceramic Coating on Vette - New Coating Formula

VetteDream

EDIT: Dan@Adams indicated via chat today that I may have received the new formula, even though it shipped about a month ago.  I just checked my bottle, and I did apply the new 9H formula.   

Here is a write up of my recent ceramic coating experience.  I spent multiple days working on it, as others have shared.  I started with a car that won its class at a car show based on “Show and Shine” the prior weekend, so I started with a pretty clean car.  Even with that, I did a full detail and spent many hours on prep work.  I will try to share some tips throughout that may help others -  most of which I received or read here in the forums.  I am relatively new to detailing, and not a professional. 

Day 1 - Rinsed car, foamed, rinsed, then did the 2 bucket wash with CS.  Dried using great white drying towels.  Clayed using DS and Visco Clay.  I used a liberal amount of DS and really took my time hitting all painted surfaces.  The car had fine scratches in the clear coat that were difficult to see in sunlight, but could be seen with bad garage lighting (more on the lighting later).  Therefore, I used the SK Mini with orange pad and orange correcting polish over the whole car, after doing a test in a small area.  The SK mini is awesome, and much easier to use in the tight areas of a C7.  I had to perform 2 passes on a couple of areas to completely correct the finish.  I would say this did about a 97% correction.  I can still find a few very fine and shallow scratches in certain light, but the correction is pretty solid.   I did this in the garage with the door closed (to minimize dust) with two overhead household light bulbs - evening and night.  Not ideal lighting to say the least.  These steps took 4-5 hours total.