Customer Service 866.965.0400

Paint Correction and Polishing Questions

avassolo

Question

Hello all I'm long time lurker but new to posting. I am new to detailing and have a couple friends that are willing to let me work on there cars. I am wanting to make sure that all the videos and hours of time I've spent are making sense. 

Car 1 :

The car is in decent shape with really just swirl markings. I'm not looking for 100% restore here the car is older i just want to restore some shine and rid of most of the swirl marks. So i went ahead and purchased the 15 mm SK and the 3 step complete pad and polish combo. I've read a lot to do the test panels to see what compound to use and i plan to do that for sure. My issue comes in when i'm finished polishing. Let's say im happy with how the paint looks now. What is the best route to go for a sealant or wax? Is it wrong to spend the time correcting it then using buttery wax to finish it off? Or will H2o guard and gloss work? Or do i actually need to purchase the ceramic wax?   Maybe I'm over thinking things but I've watched a lot of videos and cant really come to a definitive answer on what works best and most cost effective. 

Car 2:

This is a newer car. Its a 2017 Buick and i had a little time to look at it and it appears to be in great shape i couldn't even find any swirl markings. What he is looking for is more of a sealant for the car. something that makes it easier to wash and holds the shine for a decent time frame.  I know there are a ton of ceramic options but i was considering this and correct me if im completely wrong here. Could I use the 15mm SK and the finishing polish. Get a really nice shine on it. Then just hit it with liquid paint sealant. I'm open to ceramic coatings but that would require polishing the car before hand any way right? 

I'm open to feedback and suggestions on either car and appreciate it in advance.

Cheers, 

Alex 

Edited by avassolo

13 answers to this question

So for Car 1: