Customer Service 866.965.0400

Few questions regarding 9h ceramic spray

Rocco NY

Question

Hey guys,

I'm new to the whole ceramic coating game.  I have a few question regarding prep for this job.

My car was purchased brand new in August.  Put about 5,000 miles on before I parked it for winter.   Obviously never saw an auto car wash, etc.  With that said the paint is in great shape.  It has no swirls on it, that are visible anyway.  If there are a few minor ones the color (go mango) goes a great job at masking them.  With that said is it possible to skip the orbital step and still apply this, or is it absolutely necessary?  Main reason i ask is I don't own an orbital, and would prefer not to buy one for a one time need.

Few more things...
I currently have Adams strip wash, car shampoo, wash mitts and clay bar.  I don't have the ceramic prep, but I'll pick that up as I'm guessing its neccessary.

They say its safe on matte surfaces. I saw them use on it a matte hellcat hood in the video.  I have a 2018 charger Hellcat with the factory carbon stripes.  Those carbon stripes are not something you want to wax.  It makes them look terrible, and removing the "cloudy" look it gives them is sometimes impossible if its to far gone.  Will the ceramic spray be safe on those, or should I avoid those all together?

My plan was
Wash with strip wash
Clay Bar
Ceramic prep
9h Ceramic Spray

Being the car is so new, and the paint is still in good shape would those 4 steps be enough or are there still other things I need to do to get this job done right?  

PS - got a red mystery bucket for Christmas with some good products in there.  VHT, brilliant glaze, detail spray etc.  Will all those products be useless once I apply this ceramic coating, or can I still use them on top of the coat?

Thanks in advance,
Rocco

12 answers to this question

If you clay bar, you’ll want to polish the paint. A clay bar is an abrasive. It will mar the pint.