Customer Service 866.965.0400

2 months since HGG, what now?

LuckyKorean

Question

I guess it’s been about two months since I started learning and detailing. 

Back in early January I decontaminated my car with IR and Clay. Afterwards I did RW and applied HGG on the same day. 

A week later I applied Americana, not sure how great it applied. First time using wax and it was cold, I applied it thick. 

Now it’s been almost 2 months, I feel my car is still beading and water goes flying off when I drive but it doesn’t feel anywhere as slick as it did the day I decontaminated and applied HGG. I don’t know how long the HGG Americana combo lasts in the winter in Southern US, it hasn’t snowed here yet, couple days saw below 20°F. I washed my car using RW about every week. 

I’m posting this thread to get some suggestions and ask some questions about what to do next. 

With spring coming soon I’m thinking of applying another layer of product which raises the first question. 

1. Assuming 3 months after HGG + Americana, should I strip wash then apply Last step product or should I strip wash and clay bar then apply Last step product? 

This question has been bugging me for awhile. I read it’s normal to clay before applying a layer of product but I also read we supposedly only clay 1-2 times a year. 

On the Clear MB a purchase I scored a CB and SW which gives me 4 options now compared to previous 2! I’ll be honest here, applying HGG was super easy compared to Americana but using a damp towel and dry towel was kind of bothersome and it wasn’t as satisfying as applying paste wax and wiping it off. As for CB I been reading other threads about how it streaks and it’s frustrating to work with but it doesn’t require water like HGG. My car is not ceramic coated and I don’t plan on coating yet because I’m not confident in polishing my car yet, hopefully I will later this year. 

2. Which product lasts the longest on daily driver, HGG, CB, or Americana?