Customer Service 866.965.0400

Tonneau Cover Cleaning/Protecting

Bdsankey

Question

I have been using Mothers VLR on my tonneau cover for my 2002 Chevrolet silverado 2500hd with a short bed. I have been pleased with the results but am wondering if there is a different product/better method to use? I go through the touch-less car wash then apply VLR due to living in an apartment/not being able to water wash myself. 

15 answers to this question

5 minutes ago, mc2hill said:

I use Adam's VRT on my vinyl tonneau cover.  For better results you want to let it sit for while, then wipe it with a microfiber towel to remove any excess.

That is the product I was thinking about using as it mimics what I'm using already. Thank you for the tip on letting it sit and "soak" for a few minutes before removal. 

For much longer lasting results, I'd recommend the Ceramic Spray Coating. Rinse, scrub with APC, rinse, allow to dry completely, and finally apply the coating (use the grey microfiber pad for faster application). No need to wipe away the residue like you would on paint, it will self level.

To clarify above using the microfiber pad, spray a few sprays directly on the pad, then wipe on. It's easier to apply evenly, control over spray (that's not a big deal, anyway, but still...) and goes quickly.

Sounds good. I'm debating about having the truck professionally ceramic coated in the spring after I fix a few scratches/chips at Ceramic Pro with their lifetime warranty coating but I don't believe there is a specific ceramic coating for flexible items like a vinyl tonneau cover. 

2 hours ago, Bdsankey said:

Sounds good. I'm debating about having the truck professionally ceramic coated in the spring after I fix a few scratches/chips at Ceramic Pro with their lifetime warranty coating but I don't believe there is a specific ceramic coating for flexible items like a vinyl tonneau cover.