Customer Service 866.965.0400

Water Spots No Matter What in Texas Summer?

edlosee

Question

I'm pretty new to detailing and I've done what I feel is more than enough to do basic washes.

I've got everything down to almost a science and after meticulous inspection from the previous washes, I've found that my techniques seem to be preventing micro scratches and swirls.

The only problem is, I cannot for the life of me dry the car fast enough to prevent some water spots from happening.

I'll work as fast as I possibly can to the point of running out of breath to apply H2O Guard & Gloss, but I cannot reach other parts of the car fast enough to prevent water spots...

Is that just unavoidable in the Texas summer? I'm obviously washing and drying in the shade when the sun starts setting, but still dries way too fast.

Are you supposed to spray the entire car down with H2O Guard & Gloss or Detail Spray (I use H2O G&G once every 3-4 washes, DS the rest of the washes) and THEN go around either working in H2O G&G / taking off DS? I've been going panel by panel, but I'm wondering if spraying down the entire wet car down first and then going around and removing with microfiber will be the right way to go about it... any negative effects of leaving either H2O G&G or DS on the entire car the whole time while wiping down other parts of the car?

9 answers to this question

I feel ya, brother.  The Texas summers are brutal.

It's still about 95 at sunset here.

I've had much better luck getting up at sunrise for a full wash.  I know it's not doable for everyone but if you can swing it it's a lot cooler.

I always do a "pool rinse" and then pull my car into the garage.  I then cover the entire car with detail spray and use a great white towel to dry.

When I use H2O GG I work a section at a time - sprits of distilled water followed by a sprits of H2O GG.  Rub it in with a wet towel and remove with a dry towel.

Another tip --  put it off until Fall!

Good luck.

Edited by Beemer