Customer Service 866.965.0400

Graphine coating, "shadows"

_JB

Question

I'm completely new to ceramic coating and have some questions. I applied Adam's Graphene Ceramic Coating and everything appeared to be going great. After I coated the car and took a closer look I noticed at certain angles, when the pearl paint turned into a darker shade, I could see almost every vertical pass I made with the suede applicator. After searching on here I took some Adam's Polish and gently rubbed it on the paint and it appeared to get rid of these streaks.

My questions are:

1. Is it normal for ceramic coatings passes to appear in certain light/angles?

2. Was it because I let the coating dry too long? I only had 60-90 seconds before the iridescent/rainbow effect was gone.

3. While applying the coating I did cross hatching motions and overlapped 1/4-1/2" each time. Was this not enough overlapping?

4. While cross hatching I would add more coating to the applicator pad. Is this the correct procedure?

5. Any other ideas how to prevent this from happening again? 

Attached are a few pictures with the UV light. The camera had a difficult time but hopefully this can help assess what I did wrong. 

UV2.jpg

UV3.jpg

3 answers to this question

13 hours ago, _JB said:

I'm completely new to ceramic coating and have some questions. I applied Adam's Graphene Ceramic Coating and everything appeared to be going great. After I coated the car and took a closer look I noticed at certain angles, when the pearl paint turned into a darker shade, I could see almost every vertical pass I made with the suede applicator. After searching on here I took some Adam's Polish and gently rubbed it on the paint and it appeared to get rid of these streaks.

My questions are:

1. Is it normal for ceramic coatings passes to appear in certain light/angles?

2. Was it because I let the coating dry too long? I only had 60-90 seconds before the iridescent/rainbow effect was gone.