Customer Service 866.965.0400

How to remove clear from aluminum rims and start over???

Ian6

Question

photo.jpg

The clear is bubbling on the factory aluminum clear coated rims on my K5 Blazer I just bought. what chemical should I use to remove the clear. and after the clear is removed I should polish with MP and a powerball right?

25 answers to this question

those came out awesome, did you wet or dry sand?

Thanks. I dry sanded them with 3M wet or dry sandpaper. This is the first time I've done a project like this. I was going to get them blasted and figured I would give it a try. It was much easier than I thought. Only sanding expertise I had was with woodworking. BTW when I was researching the pricing I found was anywhere from $25-$50 per wheel to get them soda blasted.

I have no experience first hand, but in the past I've heard of people using Billet Polish of some sort with flour (yes cooking flour) as a cutter with either machine or hand application to polish aluminum wheels.

I decided to use the stripper because the wheels are brushed aluminum and I thought that I'd end up messing up the metal if I sanded it because getting the clear out of the tiny grooves would require sanding down to that level [i guess its called brushed aluminum, makes a record scratch sound like a DJ when I rub my nail on it lol]

Used Jasco sealant and adhesive stripper/remover, applied with trim paintbrush so as to not get it on the tires, waited for the clear to start bubbling then scraped it off with a plastic scraper and blasted the rest of the softened clear off with the hose pressure nozzle. cleaned up my DRL's/indicator lights while I was at it too :D

Before

011_8.jpg

After

012.jpg

Before

wheels_before.jpg

013.jpg

After the clear was stripped off

017.jpg

After metal polish

019.jpg