Customer Service 866.965.0400

First PC

M.YANCEY

Question

Hey guys I am new to the detailing with a mechine, I have a new F150 and I have seen a ton of small wash scratchs that you need to have the light just right to see. You can't fill them with your nail but you can see them. What is it going to take to remove them? I need some help with the right set up to buy. I have watched all the videos and you guys make it look easy but I have never used a PC and I don't wont to damage my paint on my new truck.. Thanks for the help guys.

10 answers to this question

Michael, those little `wash scratches`are called swirls. Thes best way for you to remove those would to buy this Kit Adam's Complete Porter Cable 7424 XP Polisher Kit (this kit it a bit expenssive, but it gives you everything you need)

First you would clay the car, then tape off a 2`x 2` test area and polish this area. Start with the least agressive method first) FMP and a white pad, if this doesn`t remove the polish step it up to SHR/orange. If that doesn`t work step it up to the SSR/Green pad.

If the green pad works you must follow up with SHR/orange pad, FMP/white pad.

Remember the PC is not a flex or rotary, it needs to more very slowly and you must apply enough pressure. If you don`t correct the 2`x 2` using proper techinque, you wont correct the rest of the car.

Edited by Mook@Adams
fixed.

If the green pad works you must follow up with SSR/orange pad, FMP/white pad.

He meant SHR and an orange pad... easy to get twisted around all the acronyms. If you ever forget, keep in mind that the products and pads are colors coded. Green with Green, Orange with Orange, etc etc etc.

BlueGen is 100%. You can get amazing results with these products. Watch the video's...again...and hang out here. You will be stunned! :2thumbs: