Customer Service 866.965.0400

Hey classic Corvette guys! Look here please

bjoeaull

Theres a local small liquidation type auction place in my town tomorrow selling a car along with some other random things. This vette seems to me to be a rather interesting find. Its a 69 stingray convertible with a 427 m22 rock crusher. Though I cant tell from the listing if its #'s matching or not. It sounds like its in great shape but cant view it til tomorrow morning when they auction it off. Is this a rare valuable vette or just normal run of the mill. Basically should I take the time to check it out to see if it goes cheap? Haha! Its yellow with both black tops by the way, heres a pic, the only one.

vettejpg.jpg

I'm by no means an expert, but what will really dictate if its valuable or not is if its an L88 option car. L71 is far more run of the mill, and nothing really valuable, L88's are RARE and worth big money... I doubt its an L88, but who knows. Maybe you'll get lucky?

As an option code on the 1967 to 1969 models, L88 was an almost secret offering. Chevrolet actively discouraged L88 orders from dealerships and the public. Just what was all the fuss about? The L88 was capable of 171 mph at Le Mans and sported more than 500 horsepower. It was developed for the track and never intended as a boulevard cruiser.

The L88 was first offered to teams such as Sunray DX Motorsports who contested Corvettes in events such as the Sebring and Daytona. Packed with factory competition hardware, the L88 package was an ordering option that made the Corvette a pure race car. Only 20 cars were made in 1967, largely for racing, but nearly 200 L88s were ordered on the C3 platform.