Customer Service 866.965.0400

PC problems

Tkosinski2

Question

So I've been super happy with my PC since I purchased it. It's been great to me the few time I used it to wax my huge truck. I've used it maybe three or four times total and I finally got my polishing pads. Was super stoked I try them out. My buddy asked if I could fully detail his car for when they sell it so I was stoked to get the practice and see what I could do. It's my first time polishing. Well I went to go use it and my PC started having a fit. It spun up, I apples the polish and when I went to up the speed on turn it on again and applied just a little pressure it stop. I was like oh maybe I'm pushing to hard and so I let up it started back up so I was like oh ok cool but then it started having a fit turning on and off and on and off and then it just stopped workin all together. I've had it maybe 9 months. Have you guys experienced this same thing?

I'm a little upset that when I need it it wasn't there for me

17 answers to this question

This is a strange one. I read this thread, left, and revisited it and still haven't been to come up with any ideas. Since you bought online, I would either contact where you bought it or Porter Cable themselves.

I just got a PC as well and though I don't know everything about it, I'm just wondering if maybe it has to do with the backing plate for the pads? You mentioned it worked fine before the pads so that's why I'm thinking that. Double check to make sure everything's attached correctly.

Ignoring the bit about it happening as you applied pressure, it almost sounds like it could be a power cord problem.

We get this from time to time at work, as tools are bundled up pretty quick and the cord just gets wrapped around the tool, eventually we end up with symptoms similar to yours. 9 times out of 10 it's a break in the copper wire where it enters the tool.