Customer Service 866.965.0400

Claying and Polishing my Challenger

WYLEEV8

Question

Hey all,

I'm new to claying and machine polishing. I would like to know if anyone, who has a newer Dodge Challenger, can give me some pointers on where and what you taped off before I clay and polish. I have blue painters tape and Adam's new orange tape. I will be using a new Porter Cable polisher with all Adam's products. Can anyone help?

I have just washed my car, 2012 Blackberry Pearl Challenger, and plan to wipe it down tomorrow morning with a MF towel and Detail Spray. I will then tape it off, clay it, machine polish it, and seal it.

19 answers to this question

You can also dress all the trim and plastic with SVRT instead of taping. If you hit that area with the polish it will be easy to remove.

If you end up using the tape remember you can peel off and reuse the Adam's tape. It's pretty amazing stuff. I did one side of mine then removed it all and put it on the opposite side. The 3M doesn't work so well once you've used it once.

Tape off your badges, lettering, etc.

Tape off your panel gaps that arent easily accessible for cleaning afterwords.

For example, I dont tape the hood or trunk lid seams because its so easy to open them and wipe down the edges. IMO that is easier than placing and removing tape, plus removing the tape residue afterwords.

Be sure to post pics during and after your done! Good luck and be patient, it may take you several days to get it right.

I recommend taping anything that can tear the pads (emblems, etc.), anything that can make the pads dirty (sunroof surrounds, rubber window moldings, etc.), and anything that will stain (plastics,etc.). As others have said, you can apply SVRT on the plastics to make them easier to clean up.

Thanks Camaro2ssblack. Man I started taping off my car to clay and polish, with my new PC, and it started raining. How long can I leave Adam's new tape on my car without it messing up my vinyl or paint?