Customer Service 866.965.0400

New car with ResistAll detailing questions...

Marc

Question

I just purchased a new Audi S5 and I made the mistake of adding on the ResistAll protection package, which has already been applied. It included something put on the outside of the car as well as the interior. I now realize this was likely a waste of money, but what's done is done. Since buying the car about 3 weeks ago, I've become interested in doing my own cleaning and detailing which I've never done before.  

I would like to wash, clay, polish, seal, maybe glaze and wax, and maintain the interior.

My questions:

What actually was applied to my car with this ResistAll package and would that change how I should clean/maintain the car from now on?  I believe they added some sort of sealant but I am not sure what, how it was applied, quality of application, etc.  Would I still do all the above steps the same way as if no Resistall was ever on the car?  Would you recommend just stripping the ResistAll and starting fresh with my own products?  As for interior, any advice on how I should treat/maintain the leather/dash etc considering there is a layer of Resistall on there already?

Products I have or have on order:  Car shampoo, clay bar, swirl/haze remover + revive polishes, quick sealant, brilliant glaze, americana wax, detail spray, all purpose cleaner, waterless wash, glass cleaner and sealant, leather/interior cleaner and leather conditioner. 

Any advice greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Marc

12 answers to this question

Congrats on the new purchase - the S5 is such a wonderful machine!  The ResistAll products aren't any better of worse than a lot of other sealants...it'll give you around a years worth of protection inside and out....it's not a BAD product...but it's no miracle worker either.