Customer Service 866.965.0400

Using all the products together

RickF

Question

I apologize if this has been asked before, I couldn't find a thread. My question is, I would like to get my truck ready for a car show, I've never entered a vehicle in a show so I'm new at this. My truck is a 95 F150 with several paint defects, but overall looks pretty good for a 21 year old truck that was kept in a barn. My plan was to clay, then use the paint correcting polish and after that paint finishing polish. Should I then follow up with the Americana wax? Will that give me the shine I'm after? Also, is it OK to then maintain that with the Guard and Gloss?

My big question is, am i defeating the purpose of some products by using other products on top fo them. I know, a lot to answer here, thanks for your help.

Also, I'm talking about Ford Nationals at Carlisle, I'm really hoping Adam's is going to be there this year!

13 answers to this question

There are a lot of things to cover before a car show, but each owner must approach the show in his or her own way when it comes to prep and on-location detailing.

The amount of correction depends a lot on the condition of the paint. Using an ultra-bright light, you can shine the light on the paint to help you gauge how much correction you'll need to do. You'll always want to follow correction with the finishing polish, as you've stated.

Once you've polished, I would then machine-apply Adam's Paint Sealant. Once the sealant has been laid down, then apply Americana.

Maintenance washes, weather, and general use will wear down the Americana in just a few weeks. Re-apply Americana at that point or use H20 G&G to maintain protection. With the paint sealant already laid down, and maintaining either wax or G&G, your sealant could last as long as 6-9 months. Garage queens can probably go a full year on the same sealant. It's serious protection.