Customer Service 866.965.0400

Pad Failure on Rupes Mk2 Polisher

snapier

Question

Hey gang!

Long time amateur detailer and just started using all Adam's products about 2 years ago. I recently bought the new Rupes Mark II polisher with the pad kit. I've used many polishers in the past but have just used the Cyclo for the last year or so. Anyway, I did my first detail job Sunday with the Rupes and about halfway through, the microfiber pad "blew out". The center section collapsed and there was no support left in the pad. I've never had this happen before and I'm wondering if this is common or if I did something wrong? Could the heat from the machine cause this to happen? I should clarify that while I'm an amateur I've done this type of job 15-20 times in the last year (with other machines) and never seen anything like this. I started with orange microfiber, then orange foam and then my son followed behind me with the Cyclo doing the white foam pad. After that I used the grey pad for the paint sealant. Obviously the machine did get a lot of run time.

Any advice would be great! I sure don't want to rip through pads on every job!

Hi Stewart, from my research, there are a lot of people blowing out pads from all manufacturers using the new Rupes Mark II, as the power has been increased and understated. What has been said elsewhere is to use between a 3 and 4 setting. I'm sure Dylan will chime in if he sees this. My 15 Mark II is on the way, can't wait!

I had something similar happen with my orange foam pad, except when it failed it flew off of the machine, and luckily my machine didn't dive back to the paint. 

When I retrieved my pad from across the garage, it was very beveled.