Customer Service 866.965.0400

Newbie to paint correction

Pwncess

Question

Hi all, 

I'm looking to finally order a swirl killer and get to work on correcting my cars! I've never done paint correction before - but have watched tons of Adams videos! I have a few Q's before finalizing my order. 

First car: e92 BMW coupe - space grey

There are a real good amount of swirls in the paint. I don't have to look very hard in the light to see them all over the hood. The car was also swiped/scratched in a parking garage (so nice of people to hit and run!) and got "buffed" at my local body shop. However, I still see some remnants of the damage left over.

Which polishes and pads would be recommended on this? 2 step or 3 step? Is finishing polish always necessary? 

Second car: '14 STi hatch - satin white pearl

Overall the paint on this car looks good. I notice a few light swirls on the hood but nothing major. The only real imperfection is about an 8" x 2" strip across the hood that looks like a bunch of concentrated swirls. About 3 weeks or so ago I clayed, hand polished, paint sealed and waxed this car - with all Adams products, of course. I'm really only looking to correct the hood area for now. 

What would you suggest to strip/prime just the hood before a correcting session? Again, which polish/pad would be recommended? I'm concerned with the softer Subaru paint alongside it being pearl white. 

And for both cars: how many passes are done at each step? Pressure? Do you wipe off each polish residue before moving to the next step? I don't want to cut any corners, gotta do it right the first time - would appreciate any help. Thanks!

3 answers to this question

You ask a lot of questions. All with different answers. Without more information, it's speculation as to the answers. But here we go...

Car 1: