Customer Service 866.965.0400

Wheel Cleaner for paint decon.

wwizard10

Question

Hello good afternoon,

I recently got into detailing, I've been washing my car and take good care of her, the other day i decided to do the baggy test and i started wondering If i have been washing my car with sand paper lol its very rough. Then i noticed rock chips so I decided to touch up the paint, and well i wanted to do it on a healthy paint.

I have a question that might sound well, not very smart but Im a total noob. Im sure i need to decon my paint, I've been reading the forums and I can see that this is not exclusive for white pant (Iron contamination/rail dust etc) but all the pictures and videos I have seen so far is for white cars/trucks is this because it shows the effect better on white paint or its because I should not be using this on darker paints? My car is a metallic blue with aluminum wheels. 

(The attached picture its just to show the color)

Thank you very much.

post-16006-0-27684700-1494537818_thumb.jpg

15 answers to this question

Your car is rough so it needs claying. Claying will remove bonded contaminates. I don't think a decon spray would help very much but it wouldn't hurt. It is more common on white cars.

I would strip wash or wash normally with 1-2 oz APC added. Then I would use the decon, then clay.

Don't let the wheel cleaner dry on the car!

You could also dilute it 1:1 if you want to be safer, and save product.

Edited by Nathan

Adams products work on all colors..im confused by what you're asking. Lol.

A iron decon is used to remove this type of stuff, common on white cars. Adams wheel cleaner can be used as an iron decontamination, instead of buying a different product.

post-15489-0-86464900-1494538338_thumb.jpg