Customer Service 866.965.0400

Rupes vs Flex

Ls1transam

Question

Opinions welcome. I have a Rupes 15mm MKll. I'm not pro but I've logged a few hours of time with it. There are certain situations were the pad just will not spin. My pad isn't overloaded with product or too little. And no matter how I hold it, there are certains times it just will not spin. I know some of it is me. But there are times I wonder if I should have bought the Flex 3401. Maybe the Rupes is a better option since I am still learning? Is the Flex more aggressive since it has forced rotation even though it also acts like a DA? What polisher do you use, which do you think is better and why? I have never used a 3401 so I can't say anything about it. Heard lots of good things though. I'm just kinda thinking out loud I guess.

If the pad is not spinning it is because of how much weight you are applying to the Polisher. If you hold the Polisher and don't push down the pad should spin freely, if it does not spin freely when applying no weight there may be an issue with your Polisher. The Rupes is the better option if you are still learning.

​Hi John,

​I can offer an opinion, and maybe some advice on the Rupes "stopping or slowing down" on curves.

​Have a Flex, Rupes MK 11, and Cyclo, and the Flex does correct faster, BUT the trade-off is that it is more difficult to operate since it has forced rotation in the counter clockwise direction.

​It can be learned, but again that would require time and practice.

​On the Rupes, are you using it on speed 4 for correcting?

That speed seems the best to correct and prolong pad life, as the heat build up in the pads was a concern.

​You may need to bump it up a bit speed wise, but slow your process down on the curved areas to prevent "stalling."

​Just my opinion, and hopefully can get you squared away decision wise.

​Both are great professional machines, and all of them have benefits and limitations.