Customer Service 866.965.0400

Clay longevity

Scooter McGoo

Question

Hi guys,

I'm new to detailing and have found myself diving head first into all the toys from Adams.  I've only washed/detailed my truck 2x thus far and I can tell I have a new hobby.

Anyway, I'm looking into taking the next step and I'm about to get Adams clay bar kit.  First, being new to detailing, I've never clayed a vehicle before, and I was wondering how long the clay lasts?  I know it depends on how dirty and how big your vehicle is, but I'm just looking for a general idea.

Secondly, if the clay is meant to pull all the grime out of the paint/windows, wouldn't reusing it down the road potentially scratch the paint/windows?

Lastly, how often do you clay?  I'm learning that there are a number of products that are not meant to be used every time you wash your vehicle.

Thanks in advance.

13 answers to this question

You're correct when you say how long the clay lasts depends on the size and condition of the vehicles you're using it on.  I tend to toss my clay when a few things start to happen.  First is if I can no longer fold the contaminants inside of it and get clean clay on the outside.  Second is if I feel the clay starting to really break down and become pretty soft.  Finally, if a piece of clay hits the ground...it's garbage.

Sometimes I get a vehicle out of a piece of clay if it's really bad.  Or if I'm working on vehicles that have been maintained I can get quite a few out of it.  The variable is too much to say.

I clay every time I plan to polish at the very least.  You can do the plastic bag test to see if you need to clay as well.  Put your hand in a plastic bag and rub the paint.  The plastic bag will amplify the feeling of the surface.  If it feels rough, you should clay.  You definitely don't need to clay every time you wash.

And thanks for reminding me that I forgot to add clay to my recent resupply order!!!