Customer Service 866.965.0400

What Route To Take?

BrennanT

Question

So I am fairly new to the polishing/paint correction world and I am really looking for the best way to remove the swirls and oxidation from a Chevy 2500 dark gray paint job. The truck is a 2005 and has a few scratched here and there that I know won't come out but I see a good bit of swirling in the paint from previous washes overtime. I am looking at purchasing the Porter Cable to do the work but I guess my main question is what products would work best and most efficiently?

The main reason I ask is because unfortunately I don't have a garage that will fit the truck so I will be working completely outdoors  so I figure I would have to complete my process in that same day and I am afraid by the time I wash and clay I wouldn't be left with enough time to go through and compound, polish, finishing polish, then apply a sealant. Is there a possible way to complete the process in 2 days rather than one? I am just worried about the contaminants on the truck  overnight and not starting on a clean surface the next day? Any solutions to this issue? Thanks!

24 answers to this question

It can be done over several days. That’s how I did my truck. I am in the same boat. Truck fits in my garage but I can’t work on while it’s in there. 

Here is a general outline how I did mine.

Day 1:

Washed the whole truck. Clayed the 3 sides of the truck bed. 3 step polished all 3 sides then applied sealant to all 3 sides. 

Day 2:

waterless washed drivers and rear drivers doors. Clayed those doors. Microfiber with heavy correcting polish both doors. Had time so I waterless washed hood and front bumper. Clayed both. Micro fiber with heavy correcting polish hood and bumper. 

Day 3: