Customer Service 866.965.0400

Moved to Florida... Detailing Tips?

KoryMiller340

Question

All,

I've been detailing for a few years, but just recently relocated to Florida from Pennsylvania.  I washed my car this past Sunday, and while it isn't "hot" yet, I definitely struggled to get it dried quickly enough while trying to avoid water spots.  I used the wash & wax, and the car was mostly in the shade for the duration of the wash, however, the sun came out as I was rinsing.  Any tips anyone can recommend?  I've worked hard over the past few years to make my stuff perfect, I want to maintain it here.

I'm sure the general rule of thumb applies, wash / wax in the shade if possible, etc. etc. but if there are any other tips anyone wants to provide, feel free to chime in.

Thanks!

16 answers to this question

YES, Wash in the shade, if possible.  And of course early mornings or late evenings are best.   

You will need to use the 'reactivate the soap' method too.  Wash the car and leave the soap on it.  Then when the whole car is clean, load up the clean wash mitt with soap, and wipe it over the about 1/2 the car, then reload again and do the remaining 1/2.  Now rinse, then pool rinse.  The dried soap does not leave the water spots like plain water does. 

If you are not already using it Rinseless Wash it is your friend.  I often clean the wheels, then pull the car in the garage and to a Rinseless wash, so as not to have to fight the sun/rain.  It leaves about as much water on the floor as you would get if you pulled the car in during a good rain.    

If you are only doing your cars, then plan your major work from late October to early May, and leave the rest of year (when the humidity arrives) for early/late day washes.  I use H20 G&G as part of a Rinseless wash during the summer as a 'booster' to Paint Sealant.     

2 hours ago, KoryMiller340 said:

@mc2hill I am living in Winter Park.