Customer Service 866.965.0400

Brilliant Glaze & Americana Questions

rondre

Question

So picked up the brilliant glaze/americana kit along with the paint sealant (going to completely ignore the griots stuff i bought previously - def becoming an adams fanboy).  I've never used a glaze before and been combing the forums but still have some questions.

1 - I know for coated vehicles it's been stated that sealants/waxes can actually hinder hydrophobic properties and are not needed.  Would brilliant glaze affect anything if applied over a coating and will it still give a high gloss?  

2 - Would Americana applied over the coating (or coating  + bg) act the same as the wax on a non coated (but prepped) vehicle?

3 - When applying brilliant glaze - is it like a sealant or wax that you wait for it so dry before buffing or do you wipe it on and buff it off right away?

Thanks all!

4 answers to this question

Let’s go in order of your questions...

1 - If your vehicle is coated, it should maintain a high gloss finish. BG is a very short lasting product. It’s benefit, if any would be limited. 

2 - There’s no need to wax over a coating. Americana is exactly that...a wax. We would use wax over sealant and glaze, but not over a coating. Like I’ve mentioned before, gloss is a result of your prep and that is enhanced and protected with LSP. Product isn’t enough to cover up poor prep. 

3 - BG is similar to sealant in application. Apply by hand or by machine at low speed then wipe off. You can leave the residue on while you apply prior to buffing. 

I correct all swirls.

Then paint sealant. New paint sealant doesn't need the 12 hour cure time

Then Americana or patriot wax.

Then brilliant glaze..

Perfect combo.!!!!!

Edited by keev14

On ‎4‎/‎5‎/‎2018 at 6:52 PM, rondre said: