Customer Service 866.965.0400

Products and steps

Tico11159

Question

Hey. I’m new to detailing and am about to make a pretty large purchase from Adams. Want to make sure I’m buying the right stuff for my applications. I have a 2016 f150 king ranch and a 2018 Infiniti QX60.

I drive the f150 more often but neither are really “garage queens” I’m looking to do a full detail off the bat, paint correct and seal. 

Heres my plan 

strip wash 

iron remover 

clay

wash again with ultra foam

paint sealant

Buttery or Americana- not sure yet 

after the detail I plan on doing a maintenance wash every week or two and touching up the wax with h20 guard and gloss. 

Am I on the right track ? 

Sorry for the long post ! 

9 answers to this question

You’re on the right track. I’d use Americana over buttery. Buttery is a decent finish, but too short lived for my tastes. 

Our new car prep also includes a finishing polish to level the paint. It may look good from the factory, but it’s not level. It will pop once you polish it. 

16 minutes ago, shane@detailedreflections said:

You’re on the right track. I’d use Americana over buttery. Buttery is a decent finish, but too short lived for my tastes. 

Our new car prep also includes a finishing polish to level the paint. It may look good from the factory, but it’s not level. It will pop once you polish it. 

When should I polish ? After clay but before paint sealant ? 

Thoughts on hand applied one step polish ? 

11 minutes ago, Mbrazelton said:

If your going to polish by hand use Revive, it's made more for hand use.  One Step by hand will get you very little results, and most likely just make your shoulders hurt for days! 

Thanks I didn’t see the revive earlier. Looks like I’m ready to place my order. 

1 hour ago, Tico11159 said:

Thanks I didn’t see the revive earlier. Looks like I’m ready to place my order.