Customer Service 866.965.0400

Prepping my wife’s car for ceramic

Eswear

Question

I washed and clayed my wife’s car and I tried to get some of the marring out of her paint (tunnel wash defects) with the orange pad and correcting polish with no luck. Could I try a different pad with the same polish and get more cut? I don’t want to get too crazy cause I’m still learning. What do you guys recommend?

17 answers to this question

1 hour ago, Eswear said:

I washed and clayed my wife’s car and I tried to get some of the marring out of her paint (tunnel wash defects) with the orange pad and correcting polish with no luck. Could I try a different pad with the same polish and get more cut? I don’t want to get too crazy cause I’m still learning. What do you guys recommend?

I'd try the blue pad wih Heavy Correcting Compound or Sprayable Compound. You can use the Correcting Polish and Orange Pad as a second step in the correction process.

2 hours ago, Eswear said:

Some pictures might help give you the best advice.

17 minutes ago, Amiguel6 said:

I'd try the blue pad wih Heavy Correcting Compound or Sprayable Compound. You can use the Correcting Polish and Orange Pad as a second step in the correction process.

+1. You can also mix & match pads/polishes (Heavy Correct on an Orange Pad, Correcting Polish on a Blue Pad, etc) for a little more/less correction, as needed.

The general rule is start least aggressive. I only mention it because you are just starting out. Another...don't chase perfection. It'll drive you insane. But you can get close. 🙂