Customer Service 866.965.0400

Newbie! And question on my first ceramic coating!

Hey new friends,

My name is Mike. I live in Springfield, MO. I am new to Adams and detailing. Looking to up my game!

I currently own a black Acura MDX and applied a ceramic coating last week. My first time. Prior to applying I did some light paint correction by using compound and polish with a polisher. I have since noticed that I didn't get all the scratches and paint dings out, although it's 100% better to my eye. Is it normal to not get every scratch out or should I have taking longer with the compounding phase? The whole job took me about 6 hours.

- Mike

Welcome to the forum Mike! :welcomebanner:  Before you do a full ceramic coating, you want your paint to be the best you can get it. Not everyone (hardly anyone) gets it right the first try.  Make sure you have really good lighting when polishing so you can see each area as you're doing it, and so you can see those smaller swirls and scratches.  Usually, it takes me two days just for the spray ceramic coating till I have all the steps completed and the coating is set.  

Welcome to the forum and Adams Products.

Not everyone gets all the scratches out. Swirls and light scratches yes but some of the deep ones you might not want to get out. You only have so much clear coat on your car. Not worth making it absolutely perfect and then have thin clear coat or basically none at all.

Buffing is an art and takes a lot of practice to get right. I suggest  picking up some panels at a junk yard and practice on them. So if you burn them up who cares your learning. Once you get your technic down , then go back and go over your personal car. You already protected it , why waste it?