Customer Service 866.965.0400

Polish before using the surface prep?

Mike18

Question

I am new to ceramic coating and I also have lessons to be learned.  Last weekend, I washed my car, then clayed it followed by using the surface prep and, finally, the ceramic paint coating.  I neither polished between the claying and the applying of the surface prep.  Nor did I use Boost after the ceramic paint coating.  Currently have a lot of smears.  Should I polish before applying the surface prep?  If so, any suggestions on a good polish to use?  The instructions did not indicate to use Boost as part of the "complete" treatment.  Should I use that also?

Thoughts on where I should go from here?

Thanks,

Mike

12 answers to this question

The order for ceramic coatings is Wash, Clay, Polish, Prep, and Coat.  Always polish BEFORE you apply the prep.  Used to be you waited 24 hours after applying the ceramic then wipe it down with the boost.  Not sure if that's changed with the Graphene stuff or not. As for the polish, either the regular Polish or the One Step Polish works fine.

Technically you can coat without polishing.  Boost is also not a requirement but it is 24 hours after the application of the coating.  

Those smears sounds like high spots.  You are going to have to polish those off and reapply.  Preferably polishing the entire panel and then reapply.  You may want to try adding a little more product onto the applicator to see if you can level out those high spots first.  If that does not work you will have to polish.  

Polishing is recommended after claying as claying will marr (a fancy term for scratch) which is removed by polishing.  Not noticeable if you have a white or silver vehicle.  You would then follow with the surface prep after polishing to remove any polishing oils.  And finally finish it off with the coating.  

Take a high spot as a lesson learned.  Easily fixed.