Customer Service 866.965.0400

Gaggz

Question

Hi everyone, need some advice on a 9-hour DIY ceramic coating project with Adams UV graphene ceramic coating. I am a a complete novice when it comes to ceramic coating! I did research on Amazon on YouTube and found out Adams UV Graphene Ceramic coating is the best coating I could do as a beginner, so here is my experience and some questions...

My Pearl White color Tesla Model Y had 'Car guys sealant wax' on which was beading water. So prepared the car with Adams strip wash (washed twice), Adams iron remover and a clay cloth. The car was always garage kept with sealant on and had no swirls or defects. Still went ahead with Meguiars M205 finishing polish with a white finishing pad using DA polisher. Used IPA- Adams surface prep after polishing and before ceramic coating. However this is where my lack of expertise created issues.

1. After applying ceramic coating, I was too nervous about leaving "high spots" so removed the coating just when the rainbow effect went away in "majority" of treated area. It is a very practical point that coating cannot be applied perfectly evenly, so while buffing away, there were some small points(a few millimeters out of a 3x3 foot treated area) which were not perfectly "dry" at time of buffing ... Hope that was okay?  [Waiting for minute "wetter" points to dry would  definitely cause high spots at the areas that would have been dry for a longer time...]

2. I mistakenly used plush towel instead of suede towel, this should not be an issue in my opinion

3. Since the car was pearl white in color, after the buffing, there was no good way to see a treated versus non-treated area even with UV light. At least I was having a very difficult time making out if there was a layer of ceramic immediately after the buffing was done, very difficult to see. Not sure if this meant that the coat I applied was way too thin or everything just buffed away?