Customer Service 866.965.0400

Lets talk flaws

xlr8rvette

Question

I'm new to machine polishing. Have been working on black C6 Vette for past 2 months. During process have created and worked thru a few noob problems. Thus far have washed, clayed. applied SHR and Machine Polish (16 hours), developed some hazing problems and have been resolving with Leo Chan, Adams distributer. Now going to Hawaii for 2 weeks. When return want to finish. Plan is to complete process with glaze, machine wax and maybe buttery wax. Then look at and address any weak areas.

The point is that as I proceed I keep noticing areas not up to my expectations. Thus I need to complete the total process then examine and address isolated areas or else will never finish. Is this normal (kind of) or am I going wacko?

The second part is that while I have taken photos , could send if knew how, and they would look beautiful, I still know where all the flaws are and am not satisfied. Is this normal? My grandson once said "its only a car grandpa"! Is it or have I developed some illness?? Anyone else got this dicease? Where are the hidden flaws on your car??

17 answers to this question

The hidden flaws on a C5 are the same as a C6 - the rear end. Normal every day driving kicks up dust and debris which settles in the recessed tail light housings. I have to constantly pull out my tail lights (luckily just 2 screws), clean the area around, reapply wax (to prevent scratching the clear coat) and then reinstall the tail lights.

The pursuit of perfection is a journey into the deepest darkest part of madness you will ever hope to find. Trust me... you can waste your life chasing "perfection" in your finish. What you need to decide is what is your acceptable level of appearance, how do you maintain that level, and stick with it.