Customer Service 866.965.0400

holograms..??

acxdarlene

Question

:help::willy::willy::willy:

I went to the detail clinic on saturday and bought a few products...some of those products were the swirl and haze remover and the machine polish(or whatever its called lol) Anyways im new to adams products and detailed my car sunday...

I did a test spot on the fender and pulled the car out to the sun and it looked good...so i proceeded with the rest of the car. Well yesteday i noticed a light hologram effect all over my car :(

What did i do wrong?? I used to use meguiars products before and never had that problem before

Holograms can be tricky but when using a DA versus a Rotary (which is trickier), that can be avoided. The most common reasons I see for holograms is:

-Finishing with too aggressive of a pad.

-Finishing with too aggressive of a polish

-Working polish too long and polish dries up on you and you are "dry buffing"

-Not working polish long enough so the abrasives do not break down completely

-Using too much polish

-Using too much pressure towards the end of the polishing.

The first two are pretty easy to fix. When looking at pads, if the paint is really soft such as Honda or Infinity paint is, you may need to finish with a finishing pad rather than a polishing pad. In the Adams line up that is the Wax Pad. The least aggresive Adam's brand polish is the Fine Machine Car Polish.

For the third point (working the polish too long that it dries up), you may need to shrink your work section so you are spending less time per application. I often us a 1.5 foot by 1.5 foot section but that may be too large for some polishes, 1 foot by 1 foot may be more appropriate.

For the fourth point (not working the polish long enough), maybe you are not giving the abrasives enough time to break down completely and not allowing them to eliminate the holograms.