Customer Service 866.965.0400

Newb routine by hand

scarhead

Question

Hi, I'm a newb here.

Been washing/waxing/detailing with the Wal*Mart special products for years and this weekend I plan on doing a full Adam's detail on my G8 and my girlfriend's Maxima (which needs it BADLY). I got hooked on the detail spray and decided to order TONS of other Adam's products :rockon:.

I've been reading and researching tips & tricks on the right processes to fit my routine but most of the how-tos I've seen have to do with PC machine polishing. Problem is I don't have a PC (yet), so I will be doing everything by hand. No big deal because I enjoy doing it.

I was going to do the 5 step Wash, Clay, Revive, Wax, VRT.

My question is where does Swirl & Haze Remover fit into the process? Would it be after clay, before revive? Should I even bother using SHR by hand?

My G8 has the typical "been washed with a dirty mitt" swirls, nothing major at all.

Thanks for any tips on this, and I'm sorry if it's been covered but I haven't seen anything by searching.

22 answers to this question

SHR goes before Revive Polish like you said. If your swirls are very minimal you might be able to get away with mixing the Revive and SHR on the same pad, and if that doesn't work you can always separate them into 2 individual steps. When using SHR by hand make sure you apply pressure, work in one direction, then the perpendicular direction, repeat until the product turns almost clear, wipe off the residue with an Adam's MF towel, and inspect your work. Don't be discouraged if they don't all come out on the first pass, as many people need to do more than one pass especially if they don't have a PC. Post some before/after pictures if you can and welcome to the forum

Check here for how to apply SHR by hand.
Oh duh...yeah I should have checked the videos first...I'm going to watch the DVD when it comes in. In this post I am looking for some first hand experience of using SHR and Revive manually.