Customer Service 866.965.0400

New car. Do I need a PC?

Darth_Emma

Question

Let me start this with my usual "I'm a detail noobie, so I need your advice."

I just got a new Camaro 3 weeks ago and it's been in the garage since I bought it. I am getting ready to buy my detailing supplies for it (of course I'm buying it all from Adam's!). Anyway, I have started assembling my wishlist and it's getting a bit pricey to get all the goodies I would like to have. My question is this, should I get a Porter Cable for a brand new car? It doesn't have paint problems. I will wash and clay the car first. But, am I wasting my money to get a PC or will hand polishing and waxing do just as good a job on a new car? I've never done serious detailing before, so I thought I'd ask you very knowledgeable folks. Thanks for your help.

Edited by Darth_Emma

17 answers to this question

I used my PC on a brand new (18 miles) car, and saw a measurable improvement. I'm sure you'd see vast improvements by hand as well though, just from the products doing there thing. If you can swing it, get the PC. I've never seen a negative comment about them. Maybe hold off on some products, start with the necessities?

Let me start this with my usual "I"m a detail noobie, so I need your advice.

I just got a new Camaro 3 weeks ago and it's been in the garage since I bought it. I am getting ready to buy my detailing supplies for it (of course I'm buying it all from Adam's!). Anyway, I have started assembling my wishlist and it's getting a bit pricey to get all the goodies I would like to have. My question is this, should I get a Porter Cable for a brand new car? It doesn't have paint problems. I will wash and clay the car first. But, am I wasting my money to get a PC or will hand polishing and waxing do just as good a job on a new car? I've never done serious detailing before, so I thought I'd ask you very knowledgeable folks. Thanks for your help.