Customer Service 866.965.0400

MSW not for professional detailers?

Brett LaCroix

Question

I am not a professional detailer... just doing research before using this on my car.

But how do professional detailers use a product that has a cure time of 12hrs?

Do you tell your customer to wait a day, then wipe down their own vehicle?

Do you keep their vehicle for 2 days to finish it?

Just curious...

:) Brett

15 answers to this question

I am not a professional detailer... just doing research before using this on my car.

But how do professional detailers use a product that has a cure time of 12hrs?

Do you tell your customer to wait a day, then wipe down their own vehicle?

Do you keep their vehicle for 2 days to finish it?

Just curious...

:) Brett

When I was still detailing for dollars it was either scenario really.

Some vehicles I had over the course of 2-3 days (trust me... when you prep something for contest judging or magazine features it takes at least that long) so it wasn't an issue.

For the 1 day turn arounds I would provide my customers with a 4oz detail spray, microfiber, and instructions on followup when they got home. But it was also rare people paying for detail work wanted a long lasting product, they preferred the slightly shorter durability with the better looks of Americana. They'd be back within 3-4 months for follow up or freshening anyways so having something like MSW wasn't a necessity and I used it primarily on wheels.

Also keep in mind that the secondary wipe down isn't always necessary. The additional hazing and clouding tends to only be visible on dark colors and even then its not always prevalent. The dryer and warmer it is when you do the application the less likely it will event take the full 12 hours. During the summer I can see MSW fully cure in less than 5-6.