Customer Service 866.965.0400

Detailing Question

lawdog

Question

Hi Everyone,

I have a question about detailing my car (since I have never done it before). I just recently ordered my first products from Adam's to maintain the car myself, including the polish and wax. I just recently had my car detailed (in February), by an independent, which included a wash, clay, polish and wax.

I want to maintain the shine and protection on my car. Here is my question(s). Do I need to stip the car and start all over, or can I maintain the current polish and wax I got from the independant with the Adam's products. If I can just maintain it, what Adam's products do you recommend I use to do that? I guess what I am asking is, do I need to continue to put polish and wax on my car, or do I simply wash the car on a regular basis and use detail spray until I polish and wax again. How long until I need to strip the car and start over again?

Thanks for the help!

Paul

9 answers to this question

You only use polish to remove swirls, scratches, water spots, etc. If your car does not have any of these you will not need to polish it. That being said I would watch all of Junkmans videos to learn about car detailing. Also if you wash your car properly you will never put any new scratches into the paint so you can get away with just rewaxing or adding a coat of brilliant spray glance to increase the shine. However I strip all of my wax off about twice a year. Once for my big spring detail and once for my big Fall detail. This stops a build up of wax which can sometimes give a hazy look to a car.