Customer Service 866.965.0400

Paint Correction 2008 Cadillac Escalade

Steven Resseguie

Question

Hey everyone... I have been reading all the great info in these forums and I am curious on who has worked on a Cadillac Escalade?  I have been told that the paint is really hard with GM cars... anyone with some input on this?? This will be my first paint correction and slow and steady is the way to go but with all things on here.... any tips are greatly appreciated.

5 answers to this question

I am still a correction rookie,  only done it twice.  I just finished my entire 2016 black Tahoe.  I used all Adam’s products.  I used the new 1step polish with the orange pad and it came out 95% corrected,  if it was spring time, and i took a little more time, I have no doubt 1step would have made  it perfect.   1 step with one full pass did most of the work, sometimes needed a second pass, and where the clay scratched it up, it needed a third or fourth pass.

History

I have almost 15k miles on it,   I’ve had it for exactly one year.  I do waterless washes a few times a week, and only do 2bucket washes after the vehicle has been rained on/ driven in rain.

proper prep is key, fully decon and clay it.  Make sure the paint is cool.

after the polish, i did an isp wipe down, waited 10min, and applied Adam’s paint sealant.  This is also the first time, I have ever used all products from the same company, and everything went extremely smooth.

i wait 20-30 min before buffing the sealant off.

then i wait 24 hrs before topping it, in which i did 2 coats of brilliant glaze.

This will take some time due to the size of the vehicle. What color is it? What type of pads and compound/polish do you have? I would start with a small test area beginning with the least aggressive product and see what combination works best.