Customer Service 866.965.0400

Best fix for damaged clear coat on aluminum trim?

AudiOx

Question

The clear coat on a few of the aluminum clear-coated trim pieces around my windows has 'lifted' a bit. Metal polish has no effect, not surprisingly.

This is not unheard of on the Audi forums and some was replaced under warranty. Well, I'm well out of warranty. Replacing it is a real PITA becase you pretty much have to disassemble the entire door.

Therefore, I was wondering if I could just sand the clear off and then just use the metal polish on the exposed aluminum.

Anyone with experience with this that could offer some tips?

7 answers to this question

I have no experience in this, but by you trying to sand the clear off will only lead you to more work in the long run. Your better off replacing them.

Yeah I figured as much.

I saw a post on another forum where someone replaced them. The labor was ridiculous. WAY more than just taking off the door panel. All the window, regulator, insulation, etc etc come out too. Guess I'll just put up with it.

Thanks.

Plasti-dip...hmmmmm.

Certainly seems possible, but I hate losing the 'shiny' OEM look.

The problem is not super bad, as there's no flaking and nothing you can feel. The 4 door pieces at the base of the window just look a little cloudy. The rest of them are basically perfect.

What's the prep for the plasti-dip? Woudn't you sand the pieces anyway to get it to adhere? That kind of defeats the 'go back to original' possibility. I'll have to read into it more.

may seem like a silly question... but are you absolutely sure they're aluminum under the clear? Many parts like that are actually just plastic painted with a metallic paint that looks like aluminum/chrome.

Good question.