Customer Service 866.965.0400

Before you wax

this may be in the wrong place but oh well i guess. As an automotive painter i get the question of "whats the diff of "fresh" and "new" paint and can i wax it?" well before you touch it here is a little something that might help before you mess with that Newly painted toy.

Fresh vs. New

Mike Pennington, director of training at Meguiar's, pointed out the big difference between these two words when it comes to paint.

"Paint that has just come out of the spray booth is very different from paint on a new car," he said. "Fresh paint is still drying; the paint is still out-gassing, the solvents are still flashing." A new car with a factory paint job is a totally different animal. It's cured at temperatures of around 300 degrees versus ambient temperatures at some shops or maybe 140 degrees or so if a shop uses heat lamps to speed the cure. Plus, quite a bit of time passes from when a car leaves the factory until it arrives at a dealership, and ultimately, your garage. So a new car's paint is no longer out-gassing or flashing.

The difference is important because you don't want to put anything on fresh paint that's going to inhibit the drying, flashing, or out-gassing processes, Pennington said. The various paint companies have different recommendations as to the time it takes for their paints to completely cure, but Pennington said 60 days is a good rule of thumb. During that time, you shouldn't use wax or anything else that promises to seal or protect the paint, as those products will put down a barrier that inhibits the curing process.