Customer Service 866.965.0400

Mac help

JJ1o87

Hey Mac lovers, need some advice.

Every now and then my hotmail account will send out a b.s. email with a link thats obviously a virus. 3/4's of the time I get sent the email as well, but don't click the link obviously. I've also noticed over the past month my mac desktop has been acting a tad bit funny. Sometimes its a little slower on Safari and Safari will crash. Yesterday as I'm typing a term paper my computer prompted me to restart due to an operating system error or something. I was ****ting kittens to say the least because I thought I was going to lose my paper. Anyway, is there any free spyware detector or anything of that sort for Macs? I've heard of CCleaner, but I know thats for windows. Any help would be appreciated.

Your detailing buddy,

Jeff

I'm no expert, but heres what I'd do:

Start by running your Activity Monitor to check for any funky process's. Thats generally the easiest way to see if there is something malicious running in the background or eating up a lot of memory.

I'd also do a clear out of your cache, reboot, and check Activity Monitor to see if you have enough system memory available. Mine recently started to bog down, turns out my RAM was pretty much maxed on this machine for me. $50 and about 15 minutes of my time and I quadrupled my RAM and haven't had a problem since.

Again, not an expert... some of the other guys can chime in, but thats whats worked for me.

I thought that OS was virus proof?

Nah, unfortunately not. It's not virus proof, but its rare you come into contact with a virus written for MAC software. I also don't think I have a virus, I think its some spyware crap.

No OS is "Virus Proof". Windows, OS X, Linux, Red Hat.... nothing is virus proof.

First thing I'd personally do is reimage the computer after backing up my files. That way everything is 100% clean.