Customer Service 866.965.0400

Anyone here detail cars for a living?

jub jub

Question

In the back of my mind I keep toying with the idea of starting my own business because...well, I'm sick and tired of sitting on my *** all day working for someone else. I enjoy detailing my car and I think it would be rewarding to take a nice car that has been neglected and make it look better than showroom new.

With that being said, if some of you could just share what your experiences have been like, both good and bad, in the detailing business, I would enjoy reading what you have to say.

19 answers to this question

If thats a passion of yours and your tired of sitting around and you have the extra cash to take the chance of starting up your own business....I say go for it.

There are alot of people who don't want or just do not have the time to do their own vehicles. :burnout:

Work is always a better place if your doing something you enjoy. :cheers:

i detail for a living, it,s hard work but ten years has past and i,ve just opened

a detailing workshop so i reckon i,m in it this business for many more years to come,

as long as you prepared to work hard and clean the crap cars in order to build your

business if your good at it your customers will not only return but they will refer you to

others.

i,m mobile myself, now with premises as i want a base plus winter is taking hold in the u.k

i spent three years building my rep and now most of my work is by word of mouth, but i still spend time speaking to people and promoting what i do, you have to give jo public a reason as to why they should spend money with you and not use the cheap bucket and

no grit guard sponge using fella,s down the road if you see what i mean, if your a pro promote yourself as such

A friend of mine has been using the same guy for several years. $99.00 for what he calls a full detail.

It's a wash and wax. Clean the carpets and wipe down the interior.