Customer Service 866.965.0400

Questions re: Flashing and Polishing

irunnoft

Question

I'm completely new to using the PC and the Flex. I've got both and I've used both on my car. I still see some slight swirls so I thought I'd check in with you guys to see if I'm doing something wrong.

First of all, when the polish flashes, whether it's SHR or MSP, does it turn almost completely invisible? I'm not sure I worked my polishes until they flashed. I might have stopped too early.

Also, I think I might have been trying to do too large of an area with the X of polish on my pad. For instance, I did half of the hood on my Challenger with one application of polish. Was that too large of an area? That may account for my having to repeat polishing tomorrow. :o If that area was too big, about how large of an area should I cover with the normal X size application as seen in the videos?

Another question I had was with regards to the steps. If I use the SHR and I still feel like I see swirls (although I wouldn't be able to tell fully without removing the polish with a MFT), should I reapply the orange polish again, or should I always apply the orange polish, flash it, and then apply the machine polish and flash it and then wipe down to see the results and then, if there are still swirls, repeat?

With the PC, I noticed Adam went up and down and then side to side. However, I didn't see him do that same thing with the Flex polisher. Do you only go in one direction with the Flex? I noticed if I tried to do up and down and side to side with the Flex, that it felt like it wanted to shoot rapidly away and to one side. It seemed like up and down was easier on the hood, but what direction do you use on the side panels?