Customer Service 866.965.0400

Machine polish in sun/heat

Blazer15

Question

Hey guys/gals.

I've been using Adams products for a couple of years, but haven't gotten into the machine arena yet.

I need to do a paint correction and am on the fence about getting a PC kit. The only reason being I live in south Florida, and don't have a garage.

Any input from people in similar situations?

Thanks

Kevin.

13 answers to this question

Work in the shade, if available. It that is not an option, try working early in the morning. I would say late afternoon as well, but the car is probably heating up during the day, and will not cool off enough to work on.

You can do this in the sun, but you will have work in very small areas. Usually you work about a 2'x2' section, but you may have to try 1'x1'. The polishes flash very quickly in the heat and when used on hot panels, so you may only get 2-3 polisher passes (up-down, side-to-side, etc.) before having to apply more polish and working it again.

Many use the pop-up canopies, if that is an option for you. Or maybe find a friend with a garage and trade a polish of their car for use of the garage.

And remember, you can to this in sections, you don't have to do the whole car in one day. Maybe 1 or 2 sections each weekend morning - polish and wax. Then after it is complete do a strip wash and apply your final protection - sealant, wax, or both.

Don't hesitate about purchasing a PC or Flex kit because of the heat. You have a few options. Take your time and wash & clay in the evening or early morning. Then you can wait for the next morning or the evening to give a wipe down with Waterless Wash and begin polishing. Make it a weekend project instead of a one day job. You can always look into a canopy as well for some shade.