Customer Service 866.965.0400

Getting a little down.

Jrosacker

So I've been trying to open a small detailing business, I think I'm switching to starting a mobile detailing business. But I need advice because the only cars I've been doing are really old and VERY dirty ones, I guess on really old cars that are all rusty I don't really know how to make them look nice. Any help appreciated.

Edited by Jrosacker

I have been detailing as a hobby/small part time income since 1995. I know how it is.

I started out with plain old cars that were a PIA to detail because they were old. But eventually as you get more experience in the field you will gain more satisfied customers. Word of mouth is key and your results will make your clientele improve.  I never opened my own ..always wanted to but the rent and leases for the bays are out of control here. People are getting 1500-2000 per bay a month plus utilities. I just kept it a PT thing. Weather is getting cold and crappy so Im limited on time except for the couple customers that let me use their 3-4 car garages that have heat and hot water. 

You can't pick your customers.

Actually, you can.  I do it all the time.  The question is at what point can you afford to turn away work.  

Pricing in this business should be based on size of car and it's current condition.  If someone is offering a flat rate, I'm happy to let people go use one of the flat rate services and they will get what they pay for.  I tell new customers that the first time I work on their car, it is most likely going to be more expensive and if they choose to maintain it better and/or return for regularly scheduled intervals, it will be less expensive on return visits because we won't need to do as much work.   You also need to figure out what the customer's expectations are as well.

Mark is correct that as your results are learned among the community, you will weed out some, but probably not all of the types of cars you're referring to.  Good luck!