Customer Service 866.965.0400

Colorado Polishing with the flex

Superdutytd

Question

Well I did some polishing with my Flex finally. I had a pretty nasty candidate to start out with. Here are some pics.

1. Rinsed vehicles

2. Sprayed down/soak with Simple Green and rinsed

3. Washed with APC/SG/Some crappy 'wash and wax' mixed together

4. Wiped down with DS/crappy towels

5. Clay barred and was pleasently surprised to not kill the clay bar on one panel

6. ONE pass with Orange Pad & SHR on level 4 (4=330 RPM/ 6,600 OPM)

The one thing I have learned and instigated today was to only use 3 or 4 pea size drops of polish after priming the pad (I put tiny tiny dots of polish on every hex to prime my pads). I also learned that you need to have a bunch of pads around if you are trying to finish a whole vehicle in one sitting as after the pad got too saturated I was simply wasting my time and doing almost no cutting.

Now I have been using powertools for many years and in my opinion the Flex is a very high quality piece of equipment. I found that with this polisher I can do 85% swirl removal on a relatively low level (4) on something this bad after just one pass after watching Adams/AJ's videos.

15 answers to this question

I've always wanted to try a flex.. here is a video I found on youtube.

That was the same video I saw that got me thinking about a Flex (Can't argue with results). Then I saw the price. For that price I'm just going to hold off until I get a rotary. But both seem to be great machines.

That was the same video I saw that got me thinking about a Flex (Can't argue with results). Then I saw the price. For that price I'm just going to hold off until I get a rotary. But both seem to be great machines.

I agree, for the price of a flex you could have 2 new 7424XPs

Thanks guy! Sorry those pics are pretty bad because I didn't have my good camera with me and I only had my cell phone.

No offense to anyone using the PC but the Flex is worth two PC's.