Customer Service 866.965.0400

Tax Experts...Live/Work in Separate States?

galaxy

So I'm starting a new career next week and doing my initial W4 and other paperwork, and I'm stumped.

I am a resident of, and physically live in one state and will be driving across the border to work in another state. Who do I pay state taxes to and how do I file at the end of the year? The employment form seems like it lets me choose. It asks "indicate which State tax is to be withheld for". So I need to input a state here and not sure which one.

And then how do I file at the end of the year?  Do I have to file for both states? Does Turbo Tax account for situations like this?

There are others at my company doing the exact same thing, so I will be asking them as well, but thought I'd see if there's a tax expert floating around here as well. Thanks guys

I’m not an expert, but good articles above. Your HR/ Payroll department should have some guidance for you especially if this is a common practice.  Check out if there is a non-resident local tax in the city in which you are earning your income. See also from a different perspective: https://hr.cch.com/hhrlib/issues-answers/Multi-state-income-tax-For-which-state-must-employers-withhold.asp?date=December-21-2015 

also, while not exactly your situation, i have lived in two separate states during a tax year and been self employed in one but a regular employee in another.   Turbotax had no problem with that. 

as you likely know, there are different levels of turbotax, and the more expensive ones handle more complex situations.   i don't know if your situation is particularly complex, but it might be worth a call to turbotax to ask which would be the best product for your situation

Edited by funkymonkey1111